Archive for the ‘Food’ Category

Great new openings in Davis: Hypno Coffee and Front Street Exchange

January 10, 2009

We’re excited to see these new shops open in Davis:

Hypno Coffee “Now Spreading Lies and Telling Rumors in Davis”, at 737 Williams Ave, http://hypnocoffee.blogspot.com/

and

Front Street Exchange: Outdoor clothing and gear consignment shop, “just north of Shop & Save”, http://frontstreetexchange.com/

These two will be a real plus to Davis – and we’re look forward to checking them out!

Food for the journey – Subway in Moorefield

January 28, 2008

jan08 107

Originally uploaded by ilamhouse

In our trips to and from Canaan Valley from Northern Virginia, we’ve settled on a favorite stop for lunch/dinner at the Subway in Moorefield. It’s at the end of the run west on the new Hwy 55, and about 1.5 hr from Canaan Valley, about 2 hours to home, so a logical place to take a break. And our family likes the food!

Map

Google Map

Purple Fiddle Thomas WV

January 19, 2008

Purple Fiddle, Thomas WV, by fishfoot

When you’re visiting Canaan Valley, a must-do is an evening of food and music at the Purple Fiddle. It’s a place with a down-home and mountain-funky atmosphere – rich brownies, whole grain cookies, great salads and sandwiches, local beer on tap, and acoustic mountain music most weekends.

Here’s their schedule for first months of 2008 (up to date schedule here) : noting which are “BG – bluegrass band, TR – old-time or traditional-based band, NOT BG – for all others, FREE! – no cover charge”:

Fri Jan 18 @ 8:30 pm the Spikedrivers $8 NOT BG
Sat Jan 19 @ 8:30 pm
the Chapmans $12 BG
Sun Jan 20 @ 8:30 pm
Sol Driven Train $10 NOT BG
Wed Jan 23 @ 7:30 pm
far beyond frail $7 NOT BG
Fri Jan 25 @ 8:30 pm
Run Mountain $7 BG
Sat Jan 26 @ 8:30 pm
Adrienne Young $15 TR Doug Van Gundy to open
Sun Jan 27 @ 8:30 pm
Coyote Run $10 NOT BG
Fri Feb 1 @ 8:30 pm
Michael Pickett $10 NOT BG
Sat Feb 2 @ 8:30 pm
High Society $10 NOT BG Camela Widad Kraemer to open
Sun Feb 3 @ 7:30 pm
the Hummingbirds $7 NOT BG
Fri Feb 8 @ 8:30 pm
Verbunk $8 NOT BG
Sat Feb 9 @ 8:30 pm
Christabel and the Jons $10 NOT BG
Sun Feb 10 @ 7:30 pm
Todd Burge $7 NOT BG
Fri Feb 15 @ 8:30 pm
Luminescent Orchestrii $10 NOT BG
Sat Feb 16 @ 8:30 pm
the Wiyos $10 Bombadil to open NOT BG
Sun Feb 17 @ 8:30 pm
Steppin In It $12 The Low Anthem to open NOT BG
Mon Feb 18 @ 7:30 pm
Jeff and Vida $5 TR
Fri Feb 22 @ 8:30 pm
Vinx $7 NOT BG
Sat Feb 23 @ 8:30 pm
East Run Band $7 BG
Sun Feb 24 @ 7:30 pm
the Spinning Leaves $7 NOT BG
Fri Feb 29 @8:30 pm
Bone Pony $8 NOT BG
Sat March 1 @ 8:30 pm
Morwenna and Jay $10 NOT BG Open Air Museum to open
Sun March 2 @ 7:30 pm
Go Kart Mozart $7 NOT BG
Fri March 7 @ 8:30 pm
Rising Appalachia $10 TR
Sat March 8 @ 8:30 pm
Halftime String Band $7 BG
Sun March 9 @ 8 pm
Jason Ring $5 NOT BG
Fri March 14 @ 8:30 pm
the Pitzers $7 NOT BG
Sat March 15 @ 8:30 pm
Wolf Creek Session $8 NOT BG Bob Sima to open
Sun March 16 @ 8 pm
Bob Sima $5 NOT BG
Fri March 21 @ 8:30 pm
Royal Pine $7 NOT BG Ian Thomas to open
Sat March 22 @ 8:30 pm
Town Mountain $8 BG
Sun March 23 @ 8 pm
M. Scott Horn $5 NOT BG
Fri March 28 @ 8:30 pm
Megan Jean and the Klay Family Band $7 NOT BG
Sat March 29 @ 8:30 pm
Goldmine Pickers $10 NOT BG
Sun March 30 @ 8 pm
Jennings and Keller $5 NOT BG
Fri April 4 @ 7:30 pm DePollo Brothers $5 –
FREE! NOT BG Polka! The accordian playing twins born and raised in the PF building!
Sat April 5 @ 8:30 pm
Waitin on a Train $7 TR
Sun April 6 @ 8 pm
Option 22 $5 NOT BG
Fri April 11, 2008 @ 8:30 pm
Bob Martin $8 NOT BG Vincent Trocchia to open
Sat April 12 @ 8:30 pm
Gypsy Dave and The Stumpjumpers $7 TR Truckstop Souvenir to open
Sun April 13 @ 8 pm
Jack Erdie $5 NOT BG

Favorites: Food in and around Canaan Valley

December 30, 2007

Our family definitely skis and hikes and bikes best when good food is a part of the plan. If we eat out while in Canaan Valley, it is generally at one of these favorites:

  • Whitegrass Cafe: during the cross country ski season this is the place to recharge between runs. Our kids love the Cuban pork paninis, while others of us go for the chili or mushroom/spinach/barley soup. Everything is good. And the weekend dinner buffets are worth making the reservation.
  • Sirianni’s Pizza, Davis: This place is a real landmark, and we love all the pizzas and their spinach salads. Go early/late on a busy weekend.
  • Purple Fiddle: great soups and sandwiches *and* brownies*. Come for dinner and stick around for some strong music!
  • Hellbender Burrittos: a fairly new place with a down-home atmosphere and good food. The namesake Hellbender burritto is spicy, big, and very good.
  • Blackwater Falls State Park: BWSP has probably not won any cuisine awards , but the lodge and dining room are pleasant – with a great view of the canyon. The food is fair but a decent value. We’ve enjoyed most the breakfast buffet there. Also a favorite is to stop there after a long hike or bike ride some miles down from Ilam House.